Our story What we do Join PAACA Donate

Our Story

PAACA began in the basement of what was then St. Anne’s Rectory in the South end of New Bedford. A group of caring individuals, who happened to be recovering from addiction, decided to take Positive Action and do something to promote recovery in the City. They did this by providing a connection to those seeking to find recovery one person at a time, one day at a time, sharing their experience, strength and hope. From that point on, tens of thousands of lives have been touched directly and indirectly by their work and the work of those who followed.

Over the years, the agency has expanded its reach and scope to better serve the community by adding empowerment programs that build hope like youth development, employment and training, housing, education and support programs. That work doesn’t happen without hundreds of volunteers, staff, government leaders, law enforcement, educators, and clergy who have been working tirelessly with PAACA to make HOPE happen.

Our Staff


Carl Alves
President/CEO
calves@paaca.org

Jamie Casey
Adult Services Director/Operations Manager
jcasey@paaca.org

Stephen Fernandes
Fiscal Director
s.fernandes@paaca.org

Terri Belliveau
Youth Services Director
t.belliveau@paaca.org

Rich Giordano
Transporation Manager
r.giordano@paaca.org

Wendy Tolley
Lead Case Manager
wtolley@paaca.org

Sean Fitzgerald
Business Development Manager
sfitzgerald@paaca.org



PAACA  is  a  501(c)3  Non-Profit  Organization  that
helps  men,  women and young  people who struggle
with addiction, alcoholism or any other life-controlling
issues.
                
Positive Action Against Chemical Addiction, Inc
Phone: (508) 997-9051 (Adult Services)
Phone: (508) 979-1580 (Youth Services)
360 Coggeshall Street
New Bedford, MA 02746

© 2017 Positive Action Against Chemical Addiction, Inc